It's Spelled D-A-I-N-A

A Case for Veganism and Other Important-to-Me Things

Matcha January 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Vegan (and other) Apologetics @ 23:43

I really love Matcha.  What is matcha, you ask?  It is green tea powder!  The whole leaf siltified.  It is this bright green, super fine, smooth, powder with a strong green tea flavor and tons of healthy antioxidants.  Yum yum.  You can make drinks with it and feel like a super hero sipping down radioactive green power juice.  (Starbucks has a pretty good matcha green tea frappuccino if you want to try it out.)  You can also bake with it.  Some of my favorite cupcakes are the green tea and almond cupcakes in that most used vegan recipe book Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.  They are soooo good.  And super moist.  Tonight I had one with green tea ice cream.  Delicious!  But mostly delicious because of the cupcakes and icing.  I actually was not impressed by the ice cream.  I think coconut milk doesn’t make the best base for a vegan ice cream.

Here is the recipe:

1/2 C Soy Yogurt (I usually just make this with some heated vegan milk, cornstarch, and a bit of lemon.)

2/3 C Rice Milk (Or any vegan milk- but rice is the most Japanese to match the matcha)

1/4 teas. Vanilla

1/3 C Canola Oil

1/2 teas. Almond Extract (I usually double this because I love the flavor)

1 1/4 C All purpose Flour

1 teas. Baking Powder

1/4 teas. Baking Soda

3-4 teas. matcha tea powder (I usually add extra of this devine stuff too)

1/4 teas. Salt

3/4 C white sugar

Mix the wet and dry separately and add them together.  Beat just until smooth.  Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 20 minutes or so.  Take out when a toothpick comes out clean.

For the (amazing) Green Tea glaze:

2 TBSP vegan margarine

1 C powdered sugar

1/8 to 1/4 teas. matcha tea powder (But I put in about 1 to 1 1/2 teas. for extra yum)

1-2 TBSP rice milk (or any vegan milk)  (I have also used brown rice syrup here.)

1/4 teas. almond extract (I usually put a whole teaspoon in because almond extract is love)

Frost the cupcakes with the goodness and enjoy!

 

One Response to “Matcha”

  1. Sarah Says:

    This is good. I will have to try it. With a few alterations, but I’m learning to cook within my food restrictions better. Thanks for sharing this!


Leave a comment