It's Spelled D-A-I-N-A

A Case for Veganism and Other Important-to-Me Things

Scuba Diving May 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Vegan (and other) Apologetics @ 14:06
Tags: , , , , ,

We are a family who likes water, especially the ocean.  We like fish:

Thats from the aquarium in Seattle- I think it is called the Aquarium of Seattle?

My parents have been scuba diving since they got married.  The rest of us have been getting certified at 13ish to join in with the family hobby.  And we are all now certified!  I am so proud of my last wee baby siblings that have taken the plunge and gotten certified as scuba divers.

No longer do they have to settle for cheesy (vegan cheese?) cut outs to pretend they are under the sea.

Notice how Parker’s eel body was being either lovingly caressed or slowly captured for food by Holly’s scuba body…. a little creepy.

Anyhow….Not only did Parker(13) and JamyLyn (15) get certified, but they did it in this creepy looking cave with unknown monsters of the deep swimming around them. So brave.

Just kidding, the unknown cave is really the homestead crated in Utah.  It is geothermically regulated and has nothing living in it.  It is quite beautiful when seen like this:

So anyhow, now we are a whole 10 person family of scuba divers!  Hurrah.  We will be our own school of scuba fish when we go to Hawaii in June.  Fun fun.

(Hahaha yes that is from the windows standard photos…)

I hope someday to have this experience:

I still have the national geographic from a few years back that details this experience off the coast of New Zealand.  How awesome would that be! This is part of the reason New Zealand is near the top of the list.

You should all scuba too!  And if you do scuba please let me know and we can plan trips!

 

4 Responses to “Scuba Diving”

  1. I love you scuba story. Thanks. We will be a family of 12 scuba divers, Calvin is already certified and Jena is getting certified now. So, your opening line to potential new husbands should be “are you certified?” – Dad

  2. I was wondering about that. I didn’t want them to get left out. This news is awesome! 12 Scuba divers…. I feel like there is a cool nickname in there for us.

  3. Ben Says:

    The Deep-Sea Dozen obviously. That’s cool, I’d like to try SD sometime.


Leave a comment